français / english / 上海交大巴黎高科评论

2025: face à Ebola, une planète numérique

Science and Technology February 2nd, 2015, Dan Abelow / Inventeur, consultant en technologie et auteur

Imaginons la Terre en 2025: une planète numérique où tout est connecté. Mais des épidémies peuvent surgir n'importe où et se propager en quelques jours. Pour lutter contre les pandémies et le bioterrorisme, une agence mondiale a été créée, capable de répondre instantanément à n'importe quelle crise. Les risques sanitaires sont identifiés et contenus 24 heures sur 24. Partenaire en temps réel des services de santé dans le monde entier, cette agence traite des informations venues de partout. Elle a recours aux meilleurs spécialistes pour offrir la meilleure protection médicale instantanément, tout le temps, n'importe où dans le monde.

Nanosciences et nanotechnologies ouvrent des possibilités inédites dans le domaine du corps et de la santé. Mais la nano-médecine n'échappe pas aux débats qui entourent cette nouvelle échelle. Et l'évaluation des risques se laisse difficilement réduire à un calcul coûts-bénéfices. Comment avancer?

Les robots sont des machines capables de refaire un nombre infini de fois la même opération de la même façon sans jamais se fatiguer ni se tromper. Compte tenu de ces qualités, ils s'infiltrent dans de nombreux domaines de la vie économique et sociale où ils remplacent l'activité humaine, supposée globalement moins fiable et plus coûteuse. La médecine, et surtout la chirurgie, sont très demandeuses de robots. Ces derniers peuvent effectuer des interventions de haute précision, y compris dans un environnement complexe, tout en réduisant au minimum les risques encourus par les médecins comme par les patients.

Exosquelettes médicaux: naissance d’une industrie

Science and Technology April 23rd, 2014, Matthieu Masselin & Alexandra Rehbinder / Directeur général adjoint & responsable du développement, Wandecraft

Développés à l'origine dans un cadre militaire, les exosquelettes sont en train de passer dans le monde civil, avec des applications pour le grand âge ou le handicap. Leur développement requiert des technologies sophistiquées, mais aussi une vision fine des usages. Sur ce marché émergent, proche de la frontière technologique, ce sont des start-ups qui font la course en tête.

L'Espagne est l'un des leaders mondiaux dans la recherche en biotechnologie, mais elle est en retard dans le transfert de technologie et la création de nouvelles entreprises. Le gouvernement espagnol espère changer la donne. Pour ce faire, il observe attentivement les biotechs israéliennes, une référence mondiale dans la création de start-ups. Jusqu'où doit-il s'en inspirer?

L'essor des neurosciences permet des avancées décisives dans des champs aussi divers que les sciences de l'éducation ou le traitement des maladies psychiatriques. Mais cette discipline nouvelle suscite aussi des débats à la mesure de ses ambitions.

Des cyclotrons contre le cancer

Science and Technology February 17th, 2014, Adrien Reymond / Directeur général, PETNET Solutions

Des avancées technologiques significatives, des applications de plus en plus nombreuses, la médecine nucléaire est en plein boom. Sortie des labos il y a quelques années seulement, c'est désormais une industrie en plein essor. Le directeur d'un site industriel nous raconte.

Différentes technologies ont pour enjeu de développer ce qu'on nomme désormais l'homme augmenté. Par petites touches, elles modifient peu à peu des données essentielles de notre vie, comme le vieillissement, l'intelligence, la procréation. Des technoprophètes, qui ne sont pas tous des illuminés, rêvent même l'avènement d’une nouvelle humanité. Grandes et petites questions éthiques se posent devant un phénomène qui ne relève plus seulement de la science-fiction.

Les étonnantes propriétés optiques des nanoparticules révolutionnent l'imagerie médicale. Elles permettent aussi de renouveler les techniques thérapeutiques. À l'occasion de l'inauguration de la chaire AXA-ESPCI, Emmanuel Fort, professeur à l'Institut Langevin de l'ESPCI ParisTech, a présenté les avancées les plus récentes.

Les quatre piliers de l’apprentissage, ou ce que nous disent les neurosciences

Science and Technology November 7th, 2013, Stanislas Dehaene / Professeur au Collège de France, chaire de psychologie cognitive expérimentale

Les progrès des neurosciences permettent de comprendre autrement des questions classiques sur les apprentissages. Des questions qui se posent aussi bien avec les enfants que chez les adultes.

Imagerie médicale : les ruptures se jouent en combinant les technologies

Science and Technology October 23rd, 2013, Serge Ripart & Ludovic Le Meunier / MRI Business Manager, Siemens Healthcare & Manager de Business Unit, Imagerie médicale, Siemens France

Avec le développement de l'imagerie médicale en 3D, une révolution silencieuse agite hôpitaux et centres de recherche. Mais si les techniques se répandent et si elles s'améliorent constamment, elles ont aussi leurs limites. C'est désormais en les combinant que l'on parvient à passer de nouvelles étapes. Dernier exemple en date : la technologie TEP-IRM.

La cancérologie connaît des transformations radicales. Les stratégies thérapeutiques se sont longtemps résumées à l'ablation des organes touchés et à la destruction des cellules malades, avec souvent de graves effets secondaires qui affaiblissaient le patient ou limitaient l’efficacité du traitement. Des approches innovantes apparaissent aujourd'hui. Elles ciblent directement le fonctionnement de la cellule et son environnement immédiat.

Aux Jeux olympiques de Londres, la vision de l'athlète handisport Oscar Pistorius, replié dans les starting blocks au côté des plus grands coureurs mondiaux, avait posé une question inédite : le sportif va-t-il tirer un avantage déloyal de ses prothèses de nouvelle génération ? Les technologies permettent aujourd'hui des performances étonnantes. Mais le progrès technologique fait-il avancer l'insertion des handicapés ?

Peut-on lutter contre la contrefaçon de médicaments ?

Society July 4th, 2012, Franck Guarnieri & Eric Przyswa / Directeur du Centre de recherche sur les risques et les crises de Mines ParisTech; consultant, chercheur associé au Centre de recherche sur les risques et les crises

Depuis une dizaine d'années, le problème de la contrefaçon de médicaments a pris une acuité particulière dans le débat public. L'entrée de la Chine à l'OMC et la croissance d’Internet ont influé sur cette évolution, dont les formes et les enjeux restent mal connus. Vu l'ampleur du phénomène, il est aujourd'hui essentiel de considérer de près les transformations en cours et de repenser la lutte anti-contrefaçon.

Imagerie 3D : les nouveaux territoires de la recherche médicale

Science and Technology June 28th, 2012, Wafa Skalli / Directrice du laboratoire de biomécanique, Arts et Métiers ParisTech

Les progrès de l'imagerie médicale font de cette discipline un laboratoire des nouvelles méthodes scientifiques. Les innovations de rupture issues de la rencontre entre médecine et sciences physiques amènent à poser des questions fondamentales : quelle place pour l'expert face à la machine ? Comment articuler les données statistiques produites par les nouveaux dispositifs et l'attention au particulier qui est au centre de la pratique médicale ?

Médecine personnalisée: la révolution est en marche

Society November 8th, 2011, Marc-Olivier Bévierre / Partner, Cepton Strategies, bureau de Paris

Du profilage des patients aux thérapies géniques, en passant par le diagnostic moléculaire et de nouvelles formes de vaccination, les possibilités ouvertes par la médecine personnalisée sont immenses. C'est aussi un enjeu considérable pour l'économie des systèmes de santé, et bien sûr pour les grandes firmes pharmaceutiques, qui ont dû repenser en profondeur leurs démarches de recherche et développement.

Les nouvelles frontières de la lutte anti-tabac

Society October 26th, 2011, Alberto Alemanno / Professeur de la chaire Jean Monnet de droit européen et régulation du risque à HEC Paris

L'interdiction de fumer dans les bars est le symptôme d'une transformation culturelle: en quelques années, les lois anti-tabac ont fait évoluer les normes sociales. Mais ce n'est qu'un début. Avec le "nudging", de nouvelles techniques d'influence font leur apparition, qui posent de réels problèmes éthiques et juridiques. Jusqu'où peut-on aller pour forcer les gens à prendre de bonnes décisions?

Avec le vieillissement de la population et la transformation de pathologies aiguës en maladies chroniques, le nombre de patients va grandissant. La dernière génération d'appareils médicaux pourrait aider à les soigner à domicile plutôt que de les envoyer dans des établissements spécialisés. Cela représenterait des économies substantielles pour les systèmes de santé publique. Pourtant, ce marché est loin d'avoir exprimé tout son potentiel.

Quelques mystères du cerveau

Society October 3rd, 2011, Bernard Esambert / Président de la Fondation française pour la recherche sur l'épilepsie et de la Fédération pour la recherche sur le cerveau

Les dysfonctionnements du cerveau constituent 35% de toutes les maladies en Europe, pour un coût annuel de 400 milliards d'euros, largement plus que les coûts engendrés par les maladies cardiovasculaires et le cancer. Ce n'est pas étonnant. A structure complexe, dysfonctionnements nombreux.

Partout ou presque, le taux de mortalité ne cesse de chuter, même en Occident où nous continuons à tenter le sort en prenant toujours plus de poids. Les progrès de la génétique laissent espérer de nouvelles percées médicales. Combien d'années supplémentaires pourrons-nous vivre? Et quel impact cet accroissement de la longévité aura-t-il sur nos sociétés?

www.paristechreview.com

This content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License
You are free to share, copy, distribute and transmit this content

Logo creative commons

5 quai Voltaire 75007 Paris, France - Email : [email protected] / Landline : +33 1 44 50 32 89

français / english

Robots are machines capable of endlessly repeating the same operation, without fatigue or making mistakes. With such qualities, they are now quietly moving into many areas of our socio-economic world, replacing human operators deemed less reliable and more expensive. Medicine, especially surgery, is a prime demand field for robots. The latter can carry out very precise operations, in a cluttered environment, reducing the risks for both the surgeon and the patient.

Initially developed for military uses, exoskeletons are now moving into civvy street, with applications under development for disabled senior citizens or handicapped persons. Business of this product calls for sophisticated technologies by also for a clear view at the end-users. In this technology-intensive, leading edge emerging market, start-ups are out front.

Spain is one of the world's leading nations in biotechnology research, but it lags behind in technology transfer and the creation of new companies. The Spanish government is hoping to bring about a radical change in these statistics. To do so, it is focusing on the Israeli biotech sector, a world leader in creating start-ups, as the inspiration for designing an entrepreneurial and business model based on innovation. Not a bad strategy, but it should not remain unchallenged. Let's have a look.

Rapid advances in neurosciences have led to some decisive progress in fields as varied as education, or treatment of psychiatric disorders. But it is a specialty where debate rages as the ambitions expand overtly.

Cyclotron vs. cancer: cyclotron wins, and an industry is born

Science and Technology February 17th, 2014, Adrien Reymond / Managing director for France, PETNET Solutions

Significant tech breakthroughs, a growing number of applications, mature industrial processes: in recent years many factors have boosted the development of nuclear medicine. Not so long ago, it was a matter of R&D. Now it's an industry. One of its most interesting business lines is the production of FDG, the most widely used radioactive tracer in nuclear medical imaging.

Various technologies are now vying to develop an augmented human being. Step-by-step, they would gradually modify the basic data registers of life, such as intelligence, procreation, ageing. Techno-prophets, not all crazed illuminati, entertain the dream of the advent of New Mankind. Major (and some minor) ethical questions arise as we explore a phenomenon that is no longer restrained within the wraps of sci-fi.

The spectacular optical properties of nanoparticles are revolutionizing medical imaging. They also help to renew therapeutic techniques. On the occasion of the inauguration of the AXA-ESPCI Chair, Emmanuel Fort, professor at the Langevin Institute of ESPCI ParisTech, presented the latest advances in a promising field where two roads meet.

Advances in neuroscience have shed a new light on our understanding of classic issues about learning. How does it work? Is it different for adults and children? During a recent lecture, Stanislas Dehaene, a neuroscience researcher, gave an overview of recent discoveries in this field. A revolution in the making.

Medical imaging: when disruption comes from merging technologies

Science and Technology October 23rd, 2013, Serge Ripart & Ludovic Le Meunier / Head of MRI Marketing, Siemens France & Business Unit Manager, Molecular Imaging, Siemens Healthcare

With 3-D medical imaging rapidly coming on line, a silent revolution is under way in our hospitals and research establishments. Practitioner's techniques are constantly improving and gaining ground, but there are limits. New strides forward will come from combinatory techologies, for example, by marrying PET-Scan and MRI.

Cancer diagnosis and treatments today are undergoing deep-reaching changes. Therapeutic strategies, until recently, could be summarised as ablation of the diseased organs and destruction of cancerous cells, often leading to serious unwanted effects that weaken the patient or limit the efficiency of the cancer treatment. But innovative approaches are emerging. They target cell functions and its close environment.

The London Olympic Games gave the world an opportunity to behold something previously unseen: an amputee athlete, Oscar Pistorius, crouching in the starting blocks alongside the world’s greatest runners. Such a sight raised an unprecedented question: are new generation prostheses going to give an unfair advantage to certain athletes? Technologies are now allowing amazing performances. But is technological progress advancing social integration for the disabled?

How can we fight drug counterfeiting?

Society July 4th, 2012, Franck Guarnieri & Eric Przyswa / Director of Crisis and Risk Research Center at Mines ParisTech ; consultant, associate researcher at Crisis and Risk Research Center

The problem of counterfeit drugs has emerged as an acute issue in the public debate over the last ten years. Both China's entry in the World Trade Organization and the growth of the Internet have deeply influenced the evolution of this problem. Meanwhile, the forms and issues at stake are not very well known. Today, the problem has grown to such a magnitude that it has become crucial to rethink our fight against drug counterfeiting.

Medical imaging: these are the days when technological frontier renewed scientific discovery

Science and Technology June 28th, 2012, Wafa Skalli / Director, Laboratory of Biomechanics (Arts et Métiers ParisTech)

Advances in medical imaging make this discipline a laboratory for the latest scientific methods. Disruptive innovations stemming from the convergence of medicine and physical sciences lead to fundamental questions: is there a place for experts against machines? How to reconcile statistical data, mass produced by new devices, with a focus on he who is central to medical practice: the individual?

The revolution of personalized medicine

Society November 8th, 2011, Marc-Olivier Bévierre / Partner with Cepton Strategies, Paris

From risk profiling to gene therapy and molecular diagnostics, personalized medicine opens new, exciting fields to medical research. Not only is it good news for the patients: considerable improvements are at stake, both for health systems and pharmaceutical firms now struggling to reinvent themselves. But the road ahead is still full of obstacles.

Nudging smokers: the new frontiers of the fight against tobacco

Society October 26th, 2011, Alberto Alemanno / Jean Monnet Professor of EU Law & Risk Regulation, HEC Paris

The recently-adopted smoking bans in bars and restaurants epitomize a cultural transformation. By creating an environment where smoking becomes increasingly more difficult, the bans help shift social norms away from the acceptance of smoking in everyday life and promotes public rejection of cigarettes. And this is only the beginning. New public policies such as nudging smokers are now developed, raising legal and moral issues.

Technology-enabled home health care should be thriving. An aging population and the transformation of acute illnesses such as heart failure into chronic diseases mean that the number of patients is growing. In addition, new medical-technology devices could help keep patients at home rather than in costly institutions, such as assisted-living facilities or nursing homes - leading to potentially big savings for the health care systems. Instead, the full potential of the technology-enabled home health care market remains to be tapped.

Unraveling Some of the Brain’s Mysteries

Society October 3rd, 2011, Bernard Esambert / President of the French Foundation for Epilepsy Research and the Federation for Brain Research

Brain malfunctions account for 35% of all diseases in Europe, with an annual cost of 400 billion Euros, well above the costs of cardiovascular disease and cancer. This is not surprising because a complex structure is subject to a huge number of dysfunctions.

In most places in the world, the death rate keeps falling. Even in the West, where we keep doing our best to tempt fate by gaining more weight, the trend continues to be toward longer life. Now some scientists believe the rapid growth of genetic knowledge may make further medical breakthroughs even more likely. How much longer might we live? And how will society cope if we do?

Role reversal: science should be leading technology, not the inverse

Science and Technology June 20th, 2011, Françoise Barré-Sinoussi / Head of the unit of regulation of retroviral infections, Institut Pasteur

Looking for balance between science and technology in modern research, we can observe it is the latter in the ascendant. Research is being dictated by the availability of technological resources but in the past, the reverse was true. Projects began by a review of the available data from which a scientific hypothesis was constructed, and finally a search for the best technological tools would begin. Francoise Barre-Sinoussi, who was awarded the Nobel prize in 2008, suggests that in the rush to embrace technology, researchers may be missing the chance to learn from what worked so well in the past.

Microbes or men: who will win?

Society April 14th, 2010, Maxime Schwartz / Honorary General Director of Institut Pasteur

Throughout history, changes in human behavior have caused the dissemination of infectious diseases, from smallpox to the flu. But thanks to scientific progress and plain old international cooperation and coordination, we’ve been able to ward off disaster, or at least the worst of it. However, an additional factor will up the stakes for scientists and policymakers worldwide in the fight against emergence or re-emergence: the remarkable adaptive capacities of microbes. The question is, microbes or men, who will win?

www.paristechreview.com

This content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License
You are free to share, copy, distribute and transmit this content

Logo creative commons

5 quai Voltaire 75007 Paris, France - Email : contact@paristechreview.com / Landline : +33 1 44 50 32 89